Dogecoin: DBeS2gHm79fHsxkYWTatbCYonxxc8fQn4M
Bitcoin: bc1qga4p8wxjvc8vx2l9p5y35ac7t0q0jqf8lmsf9y

Friday, February 13, 2015

Proxy Voting Process - 2/19; Agenda & Panelists Announced

Feb. 13, 2015 — As an update to a post published a few days ago on the Proxy Voting Process, yesterday the SEC announced the agenda and panelists for the Feb 19 roundtable on ways to improve the proxy voting process. The roundtable is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m. as outlined in the Agenda, as posted here and below.  The roundtable is open to the public on a first-come, first-served basis and the event also will be webcast on the SEC website. Comments are welcome to, paper submissions (in triplicate) to:  Office of the Secretary, Securities and Exchange Commission, 100 F Street N.E., Washington, D.C. 20549-1090.

Source: Office of the Secretary, Securities and Exchange Commission

Agenda and Panelists
9:30 a.m.         Opening Remarks
9:45 a.m.         Panel 1:  Universal Proxy Ballots
Moderators:  Keith Higgins, Director, Division of Corporation Finance and Michele Anderson, Chief, Office of Mergers and Acquisitions, Division of Corporation Finance
  • Frederick H. Alexander, Counsel, Morris, Nichols, Arsht & Tunnell, LLP and Advisor for Legal Policy, B-Lab
  • Chris Cernich, Managing Director, M&A and Contested Elections, Institutional Shareholder Services
  • Lisa M. Fairfax, Leroy Sorenson Merrifield Research Professor of Law, The George Washington University Law School
  • Bruce H. Goldfarb, President and Chief Executive Officer, Okapi Partners
  • David A. Katz, Partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz LLP
  • Michelle Lowry, Ph.D., TD Bank Endowed Professor, LeBow College of Business, Drexel University
  • Charles Penner, Partner, Chief Legal Officer, JANA Partners LLC
  • Anne Simpson, Senior Portfolio Manager and Director of Global Governance, CalPERS
  • Sarah B. Teslik, Senior Vice President – Communications, Public Affairs and Governance, Apache Corporation
  • Steve Wolosky, Partner, Olshan Frome & Wolosky LLP
11:15 a.m.       Break
11:30 a.m.       Panel 2:  Retail Participation in the Proxy Process
Moderators:  Keith Higgins, Director, Division of Corporation Finance and David Fredrickson, Chief Counsel and Associate Director, Division of Corporation Finance
  • Donna Ackerly, Senior Managing Director, Georgeson Inc.
  • Reena Aggarwal, Robert E. McDonough Professor of Finance, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University; Director, Georgetown Center for Financial Markets and Policy
  • John Bajkowski, President, American Association of Individual Investors
  • Alan Beller, Senior Counsel, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
  • John Endean, President, American Business Conference
  • Lawrence Hammermesh, Ruby R. Vale Professor of Corporate and Business Law at Widener Law Delaware’s Institute of Delaware Corporate and Business Law
  • Cornish F. Hitchcock, Principal, Hitchcock Law Firm PLLC
  • Niels Holch, Executive Director, Shareholder Communications Coalition
  • James McRitchie, Publisher,
  • Nell Minow, Co-Founder, The Corporate Library; Founder and Former Board Member, GMI Ratings
  • Robert Schifellite, President, Investor Communication Services, Broadridge Financial Solutions
  • Darla Stuckey, President and Chief Executive Officer, Society of Corporate Secretaries and Governance Professionals, Inc.
1:00 p.m.         Closing Remarks